Slugs (1988)

Slugs (1988)
(Horror, Gore 198) (18) D: Juan Piquer Simón S: Michael Garfield, Kim Terry, Philip MacHale.  1h 29m. Spain

Killer slugs on the rampage in a rural community

TAGLINE : No-one is safe!

slugs

I have a strange slug phobia, I’m happy to admit that and this film proves that all my paranoid illusions about slugs are right, they do kill people!! When will you mortals listen to me!!

No really I can’t stand them so this film was a challenge for me. It’s quite comical having an irrational fear over something that  is so pathetically weak but unless I’m armed with salt I’m useless against a slug.

That’s enough about me.. Now for the film.. It’s so terrible it’s good! I really did enjoy it all the way through it has that euro trashy horroresqe nonesense that I adore. The dubbing is terrible the acting sucks, the scenes are unbelievable it’s like watching a school play on crack. BUT it’s so great, the gore is on top form, the characters are epic from the hot shot douchebag and his drunken manbitch, honestly his girlfriend has a mans voice! Maybe they could only afford one voice actor?

I think there was a golden age of horror movies, where it wasn’t the CGI effects that made the film, the hero’s didn’t have to be pumped or have a remarkably high IQ, they were normal people making out in normal places and getting attacked by latex puppet and that’s what I love.

The monsters in this film aren’t prehistoric, mixed with a shark or octopus, they aren’t over size or are from another planet, they are mutant though but they are still likkle slugs! Just toxic waste slugs! I remember the days when toxic waste or radioactivity made all the heroes and villains.

There was a hidden message in this movie, or at least I felt that it tried to demonstrate that drinking was bad, check out for the signs..

So basically this town somewhere in middle America or Spain is over run by mutant flesh eating slugs and only one man and his friends can help. The film mixes all the best of 80’s horror, mutants, gore, head explosions, a bit of nudity, drunk teens, a mayor and greedy hot shot, horny girlfriends. It’s just fun, even if the slug killer didn’t make sense. Come to think of it, none of it made a whole lot of sense but it is fun to watch.

 slugblood

Q: “ You don’t have the authority to declare Happy Birthday!

R: Squirm (1976), Shivers/ They Came from Within (1975) Growth (2010), Slither (2006).

BS: If I had to pick one scene I think it would be the head melting wormy dinner scene, mr scumbag who’s gf sounds like a dude is out having an important “power lunch” and his nose starts to bleed like a bad period into this drink.. then it gets messy.. great cinema!!
T: Banned in Australia???

Leave a Reply

