8MM (1999)

8MM – (Crime. Mystery, Thriller 1999) (18D: Joel Schumacher C: Nicolas Cage, Joaquin Phoenix, James Gandolfini, Peter Stormare 2h 5m  USA

A private investigator is hired to discover if a “snuff film” is authentic or not.

8MM
It’s hard to know if it’s pain, enjoyment or premature perspiration?

My mother watched this and suggested that I did, I generally avoid Nicolas Cage movie as he really bores me as an actor, he did well for a couple but Mr Remake just doesn’t cut it with me anymore. BUT I thought I’d give it a go and it is an okay flick. It’s very specific about not showing the viewers anything too gorey. I think if the movie was a mockumentary then it might have had more of an impact. We all know this kinda schit goes on and if the film was trying to make a different it didn’t really hit home with me. Still it was an interesting chase, a little predictable but it flowed through well… and I see there is a part 2!? Sadly there will be no Joaquin belly button action 😦
06

Leave a Reply

