Honeymoon (2014)

Honeymoon

Honeymoon  – (Horror,  2014) D: Leigh Janiak W: Phile Graziadei, Leigh Janiak P:  C: Rose Leslie, Harry Treadaway, Ben Huber. 1h 27m. USA. (18)

TAGLINE : After the cermony comes the ritual.

A newelywed couple finds their lake-country honeymoon descent into chaos after Paul find Bea wandering and disorientaed in the middle of their first night.

I wasn’t sure what I was letting myself in for here. Initially I assumed a psychological horror which soon turned into a supernatural horror then ended up as a messy mush ball of nonsense.

A really cute couple start off the film by making the cutest video post wedding, and I got all my hopes up that I was being sold a couple for slaughter,  make them loveable then destiny them!! bwahaaahaa!! I also got my hopes up for a found footage style film,  but this played out in a similar vein as Mr Jones. But that was all to change.

I am an avid horror fan, and I’m not snobby when it comes to horror,  I don’t mind the pace, but after this slowed down it flat lined.

It’s pretty simple to follow,  a young couple go to a cabin in the woods know their honeymoon it turns bitter and something starts happening, however that something is bland and pointless.

The creepy and shocking scenes were poorly executed and it didn’t do anything for me. The tension was a bit of a limp lovetap and the twist was as plain as buttered toast. I think the director wanted to leave it open, to not give all the answers,  sadly by the time things kicked off I just didn’t care,  it tells a story but in a dull monotony, there is just nothing thrilling, nothings makes you want to see it through apart from to work out what’s going on….But don’t get your hopes up. There are no suggestions or clues to what happens,  I think because even the director didn’t know.There just isn’t enough to get the cogs working on the ending,  I was just happy it was over.

The acting is superb, despite the script being rubbish so well done to the small cast. I do hope that this doesn’t stunt their careers as they have a lot to offer. It’s a shame this film doesn’t match their efforts.

I think a lot of people are clutching at straws to find new thrills but this isn’t something that should be tagged as a new classic. I don’t understand how this is so popular, maybe it will change once something great is released.

R: Zombie Honeymoon (2004), Mr Jones (2013)

03

Leave a Reply

