Last Night Movies 06.01.2016

 

Pretty rubbish start to the near year for me, but after a big of a traumatic hospital visit I tried settling down at the end of the week I relaxed to a couple of classics…

First film of the night…

excalibur

Excalibur (1981)

This has been one of my all time favourites since I was a wee bairn, I had a copy on Betamax on my aged top loader and have been addicted to it since. This dramatic fantasy film is heavily inspired by alternative 70’s culture, this gem from  John Boorman, based on Le Morte d’Arthur by Thomas Malory. There is a crystal sharp glare that brings up all the metal and the elaborate sets are incredibly detailed. The feeling like a dream, being slightly over theatrical, this film is a who’s who of british acting. It’s a near perfect translation of the book, and is a seductive for the eyes and ears as it’s one film that managed to use O Fortuna before it became too cliche. Bus King Arthur recognises his destiny and his connection with the physical land that he rules, a new religion is coming into place but his trusted friend and advisor Merlin is his amazing shiny skull cap helps him battle the evil forces that his sister is using against him.

silence of the lambsSilence of the Lambs (1991)

I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve watched this, and I’ve still not done the review yet..  I can’t quite put my finger on the one thing that makes this film so amazing, rewatchable and intriguing. I have to admit that despite the horrific graphic nature of the film I find it incredibly calming. It deals with violence is an unusual way, more out of a naive curiosity and doesn’t try to make it too outlandish and vile. It has sparked me to write about some of my favourite scenes starting with the most comical… look out for that coming soon.

 

4 thoughts on “Last Night Movies 06.01.2016”

  1. Excalibur is noteworthy viewing on so many levels. It makes one wonder what Boorman might have accomplished with his wish to bring The Lord of the Rings to life – instead we have the completely odd Zardoz, which is a secret 70’s pleasure of mine. Nigel Terry is great as Arthur – he would return to the age of armor and castle plots with a personal favorite TV series of mine that no one else seems to recall – Covington Cross.
    Happy new year, hope you’re fully recovered from your hospital adventure.

    1. Zardoz is something special!! It’s great for all the wrong reasons!! Wow a Boorman Lord of the Rings!! Now that would have been stunning, I’m gonna be thinking about that a night now!!

      So far so good on the hospital front another scan next week though *shudders*

      1. i guess its an intimidating project at the best of times but it’s still a pity, just getting over an allergic reaction to my medication atm but still en route for the scan!! Hopefully I’m winning some how

Leave a Reply

